Gdansk

Yes, I just had my travel to Gdansk!! The name even hard to spell. This is how to pronounce it Ge-daang-sk. This was my first time to Poland and I was shocked that the words are so difficult to be read. I remember a tram stop named Wrzeszcz. I don’t even know how to say it. Everytime I needed to ask to people about a place, I just saw them my writing of the name of the place because I couldn’t say it. Polish people speak so fast, and they smoke a lot. Wherever!!

This country is located in the central-north of Europe. It is close to Scandinavia, where everything is pricey. Many Scandinavian goes to Poland for shopping, especially to buy alcohol and cigars. I can say that the price here is supeeeer cheap *compared to Norway. The price is one forth of the price in Norway. I can eat kebabs and cakes whenever I like without even think about the price *gaya! haha.But this is right. This is also my reason why I go to Poland. For a dental treatment. I spent around 980 plz or around 1900 nok for the treatment that I am sure cost more than 4000 nok in Norway. That is far far cheaper. And also it makes me have the reason for a short holiday.hehe.

A 12 nok cake :p

I like Gdansk, overall. Before I go, I browsed about how the Polish people see Moslem, especially to Moslem women because we are so obvious wearing headscarf. I was afraid before my departure because I read that they are super racist and harsh. But when I got there, it was fine. People staring at me on the street with ‘that-look’ but I am used to it, and nothing more than that. So, it was totally fine.

In the first day, I went to Sopot. Sopot is one of the 3 city (Gdansk, Sopot, and Gdynia). The transportation is good and it took about 30-40 min from Gdansk to Sopot. This is my reason to go to Sopot:

krzywydomek sopot

It is unique, isn’t it? The name of this building is Krzywy Domek (www.krzywydomek.info). But inside of it is just a normal cafe, nothing is unique. Then I walked along this Monte Cassino street (ul Monte Cassino) where I found a lot of cafe and restaurant all along. Then by the end of this street, I got lighthouse. When I got there, the person just closed the lighthouse and then I talk to him. He was so nice. After knowing me that it was my only chance to get to the lighthouse, he let me in to the lighthouse for 10 minutes, it was more than enough. He also recommended me to visit Molo pier, which is the longest pier in Baltic Sea (500 m long).

View from the light house

View from the light house

Then I got down the lighthouse and walked toward Molo pier. There’s Grand Hotel in front of it, what a view!

Grand Sopot Sheraton Hotel

Grand Sopot Sheraton Hotel

Molo pier and the sunset

Molo pier and the sunset

I saw a super cool boat here. There it is

Galean boat, I guess

Galean boat, I guess

On the second day, I went to the dentist as the appointment that we made before. After doing all the dental treatment, spending all my money T__T, and taking the painkiller, I went to the Old Town in Gdansk. This Old Town is located nearby my hotel. It is in the ul Dluga (Dluga street) or Long Lane or Long Market because along this street are markets. This street is started by Brama Wyżynna (or Upland Gate). It looks very similar with Arc de Triomphe

Brama Wyżynna

Brama Wyżynna

There is an Amber Museum just behind the Brama Wyzynna. It costs 10 plz to enter it. This museum showed me how the amber is formed. Amber is a yellow stone. It is made of the resin for hundreds of year and pressurized by the cold in the ice age. Now this kind of stone becomes jewelry.

A jewelry made of amber stone

A jewelry made of amber stone

Just next to the Amber Museum, there is also another museum which is in the same building with Amber Museum. This museum shows the original function of the building where now used by that museum and the Amber Museum. It was a prisoner during Russia ruled *before world war 2 I think.

Złota Brama

Złota Brama

Then it is continued by Złota Brama (or Golden Gate)

This is the famous Long Lane from up above. I went up to the tower of the Main City Hall (Ratusz Głównego Miasta) and get this view of the Long Lane and the famous (too) St Mary Basilica.

The view of Golden Gate from the tower

The view of Golden Gate from the tower

The view of Green Gate from the tower

The view of Green Gate from the tower

The view of St Mary Basillica from the tower

The view of St Mary Basillica from the tower

I didn’t pay a visit to St Mary Basillica and to the Museum of Main City Hall (Ratusz Głównego Miasta) because of the time limitation. I read that inside both of this building, there are some remarkable arts. If I have another chances to go to Gdansk, I will visit these places, for sure.

There is also one more famous site nearby Main Town Hall, it is Fontanna Neptuna (FOuntain of Neptunus). Actually the shape is nothing special but there’s ceremony every year on the St John’s Day (Poland independence day) in this fountain, but I’m not sure for what is it.

Fontanna Neptuna with Main Town Hall as the background

Fontanna Neptuna with Main Town Hall as the background

This Long Lane is ended by the Brama Zielona (or Green Gate). It is so niiiiccceee just to sit down on the bench in this street, while listening to the street artist playing his guitar. By the end of the Green Gate, I found a small strait flows. Nearby the Green Gate, there is a ticket booth for the boat tour to Westerplatte. The ticket seller was nice, he is a seaman who came to Indonesia for several times. And do you know what is the most shocking part???? I used the boat that I saw in Sopot, or at least the similar one. There are 2 boats of this kind, their name is Galean and Czena *if I’m not mistaken. I took Galean.

Galean boat

Galean boat

Along the strait, there are some industries and some big vessels which doing industrial transportation/ distribution. This strait is the gate of Poland so many vessels rest along this strait, they come from Norway, Sweden, Italy, and even SIngapore. This tour took around 90 minutes return.

We got to Westerplatte, but we didn’t get off the boat because it was the last boat. I took the pictures of Westerplatte Monument from the boat. This monument was built in the place of the first aggression of German to Poland during the World War 2.

Westerplatte Monument

Westerplatte Monument

Westerplatte Monument

Westerplatte Monument

During the return journey of the tour, the guide sang along with his guitar. Some of the people dance in the boat. It was really made my day 🙂

The last place that I visited was Mariacka street (ul Mariacka). It is a place for shopping the amber jewelry. Many of shops along the street which are selling their handmade jewelry made of amber. The more amber they use, the more expensive the jewelry. Here I got a jewelry for my sister.

ul Mariacka

ul Mariacka

That was the end of my journey in Gdansk. I used the remaining time to have a kebab and shopping in the shopping mall (a.k.a windows shopping).

Can’t wait for the next travelling..

Leave a Reply

